The Institute consists of 35 research laboratories. Eight laboratories are united in oil and gas geology department, five - stratigraphy, paleontology and sedimentology, twelve - geophysics, two - geophysical and geochemical instrumentation, six are in three geographically distributed branches. Also there are Geodynamics and Paleomagnetism Laboratory  and the Arctic Centre with research station "Island Samoilovsky."
The basic structure of the Institute includes:

 Institute Structure